Thursday, January 8, 2009

Seven Worlds Collide

Neil Finn's all-star band has recently been recording in his home country of New Zealand, and the last three nights they played three shows at the Powerstation in Auckland, NZ. The band includes: the band members included Radiohead’s guitarist and drummer Ed O’Brien and Phil Selway, legendary guitarist Johnny Marr, Wilco's Jeff Tweedy, founder member of The Smiths and current member of US alternate rock innovators Modest Mouse, New York avant-garde group Soul Coughing’s bassist Sebastian Steinberg, and American singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Lisa Germano, alongside Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder (in the original group, but didn't contribute to the band's most recent effort) and members of the musically gifted Finn family -- Neil’s son Liam Finn and brother Tim Finn. If you would like to learn a bit more about this all-star band then visit their myspace page.

There are a few videos from the performances that I would like to share with you. The first one is Jeff Tweedy leading the band in a cover (if you can still call it that since 40% of Radiohead is playing) of 'Fake Plastic Trees'.

The next one is another Radiohead cover - 'Bodysnatchers' - with the same instrumentation as 'Fake Plastic Trees' minus Tweedy.

The Last Video I would like to share with you is a rare glimpse of Radiohead drummer Phil Selway fingerpicking his way through an acoustic number.

Don't worry, I'm aware the quality isn't top notch, but it does get the point across. Enjoy!


No comments: